2014 Polaris Prize Short List Announced

The 2014 Polaris Music Prize short list has been announced and our hearts are pretty happy to see three Wavelength alumni make the list: YAMANTAKA // SONIC TITAN, Owen Pallett and Timber Timbre!! Congratulations!!

The full list of finalists for this year’s Polaris Prize are:
Arcade Fire — Reflektor
Basia Bulat — Tall Tall Shadow
Mac DeMarco — Salad Days
Drake — Nothing Was The Same
Jessy Lanza — Pull My Hair Back
Owen Pallett — In Conflict
Shad — Flying Colours
Tanya Tagaq — Animism
Timber Timbre — Hot Dreams

The Polaris Gala takes place in Toronto at The Carlu on September 22 and exciting news, it will be hosted by the hilariously witty Jay Baruchel!

About the Polaris Music Prize
The Polaris Music Prize awards $30,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year, judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration of genre or record sales. Past winners have been Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Arcade Fire, Fucked Up, Caribou, and Final Fantasy (to name a few).

Photo of YAMANTAKA // SONIC TITAN at ALL CAPS! 2012 by Aviva Cohen