Rebecca Foon

Rebecca Foon is a musician, activist, producer, and co-founder of Pathway to Paris. She has performed and recorded in a wide array of contexts, most notably as co-founder of the modern chamber post-rock ensemble Esmerine, as a member of Thee Silver Mt. Zion Memorial Orchestra (2001–2008), Set Fire To Flames (2001–2004), a member of Colin Stetson’s Sorrow ensemble (2015–2020), Guy Laliberte’s Frog Collective (2023), and at the helm of her electro-acoustic songwriting project Saltland. With these entities, Foon has performed around the world and released over a dozen albums on various imprints. Esmerine’s 2013 album Dalmak won the Canadian music industry’s Juno Award for Best Instrumental Album. Following a series of six critically-acclaimed releases by Esmerine and Saltland from 2011-2017, Foon began working on new solo music with her first album under her own name released in February 2020 with all proceeds going to Pathway to Paris. In 2014, Jesse Paris Smith and Foon founded Pathway to Paris, a non-profit organization dedicated to turning the Paris Agreement into reality. Together they launched the 1000 Cities Initiative for Carbon Freedom in 2017, supporting cities in developing and implementing ambitious climate action plans.

Photo by Aylin Güngör