Lewsberg from Rotterdam are a four-piece rock group, named after writer and fellow Rotterdammer Robert Loesberg, famous for his dangerous novel Enige Defecten from 1974. This is one of the band’s main sources of inspiration: the counterculture and big-city cynicism of the 1960s and 1970s. Yet there is also a softer side to Lewsberg’s music and lyrics. On their upcoming, fourth album, Out and About (to be released on Sept. 15th on 12XU), this side is more present than ever. Rudimentary pop and rock songs are deliberately kept bare, only occasionally embellished with a violin or organ part. In the lyrics, the tendency towards existentialism and black humour is nuanced with an almost naive openness and engagement. Lewsberg are: Shalita Dietrich (vocals, bass guitar), Michiel Klein (guitar), Marrit Meinema (vocals, drums) and Arie van Vliet (vocals, guitar, violin).  



Link to new single on Bandcamp (will be live on June 20th):

Link to album preorder on Bandcamp (will be live on June 20th):

Video for Lewsberg’s “Six Hills” (2022, Speedy Wunderground): 



  • Out and About (2023, September 15th, 12XU)
  • In Your Hands (2021, 12XU)
  • In This House (2020,12XU)
  • Lewsberg (2018)


  • Without A Doubt / Communion (cassette, 2023)
  • Sweets (cassette, 2022)
  • Six Hills (7”, 2022)
  • Through the Garden (7”, 2020)
  • Cold Light of Day (cassette, 2019)
  • The Smile (cassette, 2018)
  • Non-fiction Writer (7”, 2017)


  • The Downer (2016)

Photo by Tommy Ventevogel.